Brindleboy123's Blog

Hello one and all.  Still hiding inside away from the sun here…although at the moment it is a much more pleasant 82 degrees….seems crazy doesn’t it for 7.30 at night! Still, not much longer and the old jeans can come out again, just keeping my fingers crossed that my body will still remember that it has to actually fit inside them completely rather than leaving parts hanging over the top! (apologies if you are eating!)  Each week I think I will try and do a little more exercise but my body normally objects to the thought of it.  Tony is still doing really well and now his foot is better he is managing to run on the machine for about 3 mile every day.  He would love to do the Torrevieja Half Marathon next year but not sure he will be ready in time for that as it is quite early in the year, still, he will be far more ready than I will!  He did get me running once when we were living in Weston. I managed a mile before work several times but that felt like I had done a half marathon!  Tony has done several marathons over the years to be honest including the London and also the New York marathons….a man with quite a sporty past huh?!

Tuesday we went to post Samantha’s birthday card in an “English” shop that arranges for post to be sent to the airport etc by courier. Stopped nearby as Tony felt like a change and wanted a full breakfast.  There are lots of offers around in the area there so we opted for one where I could just have some beans on toast and he could have a large breakfast – the works for 5 euros.  The waiter though told us that as the grill wasn’t working, he could only give us the small breakfast which was really when you looked at the menu, roughly half the large one but for just 2 euros, he then suggested that Tony could have the 2 euro breakfast on the same plate.  Now is it me, but doesn’t that work out as the same as having the large breakfast, ie same space needed to cook it???

When we came out of the cafe, we ventured into the shop where Miss Daisey used to buy her clothes in preparation for the holiday that we never had together.  The lady that used to serve us was in and actually remembered Miss Daisey and asked how she was doing.  Brought tears to my eyes when I had to tell her that my dear Miss Daisey had passed away.  Seems the tears are never that far from the surface when it comes to that lovely lady of ours.

Wednesday we were out on our last “long” walk of the day with the 3 amigos.  Evil Edna (aka wee wee kid, aka Lola) is such a trollop!  She really knows how to play up to a crowd.  Walking home, there was an elderly man stood outside his house….”ooooh thinks Lola, he looks like he’s got a big front garden”.  Before you know it, she stops, and does her normal “stand on my back legs and wave my front paws” bit before turning round and round in circles and doing a bit of a shimmy with her rear end.  She eventually stops and you can almost hear her thinking “Ok, now you can stroke my nose”….which the old chap did, right on cue!

On Thursday I went to have my Mammogram at the doctor’s surgery…..god how I hate those things, it feels like they put your boobs on a George Forman grill! Normally I go to the hospital for an ultrasound every 6 months but as I hadn’t actually had a mammogram for 2 years (over here they like you to have a mammogram each year after the age of 40) I decided I needed to be brave!

The lady that did it was lovely, didn’t speak a word of English but we managed quite well….its surprising how well your Spanish can improve when someone has your boob in their hand and is about to squash it! You know when they go off to check their prints and leave you there wondering whether you should get dressed or just stand there like you always stand in a room the size of a cupboard with your boobs around your waist! I had that moment and it was broken by her coming back in to tell me that she needed to one of the prints again as all my boob wasn’t on the frame….charming, what was she trying to say! Mind you, Spanish women don’t seem to get boobs until they are in their late 70’s and then they usually appear just above the waistline!

Thankfully I didn’t have too long to get the result and I have been on edge all day waiting for them.  The receptionist phoned at about 7 this evening to tell me that all is well and I don’t need to go back for one year…excellent! I used to get a lot of pain in my breasts until I went over to the UK last and got myself measured and bought new bra’s.  Nowadays, it feels so much better….just needed to get the right tools for the job, ie Scaffolding!

We were very concerned this week when we heard the news about the earthquake in New Zealand. Those of you on the carers forum may remember that I have been in contact with a cousin that I didn’t realise I had until after Miss Daisey passed away.  Linda and her family live in New Zealand but thankfully everyone is well.  We do get the odd tremor here but thankfully nothing normally over 4 on the scale.  The first time we had one was not long after we first arrived in Spain.  I was led on the floor (as you do) and the whole block of flats seemed to rattle…it was really quite scary.  Many years ago (1829) Torrevieja was hit by a very bad quake that flattened most of the town although the main church in the square did survive. Two thousand people lost their lives.

I’ve spent the whole afternoon today listening to music on Itunes….just rediscovered Agneta Faltskog from Abba and downloaded one of her albums. I particularly like the words on this song Remember me, Agneta Falskog for me, they are the words I would like to be able to say to my youngest daughter Colette.  Perhaps one day she will listen to the song.

Right well its time now to raid the fridge….only a few hours of Sunday left and then its back to “healthy eating” again for the week (yuck) so may as well take advantage whilst I can!….

Take care everyone…pop in again soon, its good to know I’m not talking to myself!

Bell x

The Cardiologist’s diet…”if it tastes good, spit it out”!  Author Unknown

4 Responses to ""

Hi Bell,

You are doing brilliant with this blog and you have a natural gift for writing, wish I could be the same. So enjoy reading about you and Tony and your life in Spain. Green with envy sometimes…..:D
Might need look at booking one of your flats next year to see it all for myself….lol

Thank you Rosemary, very kind words!

Bell x

Save us one that sleeps two Bell and I’ll come too ! lol;lol;lol

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

