Brindleboy123's Blog

Sunday again so soon……

Posted on: August 29, 2010

Howdy all.

Here we are then, another Sunday evening by the telly! Anyone remember when they were a child, Sunday nights was always “Sunday Palladium”! I used to love watching that.  I can even remember doing that with my Mum and I have very few good childhood memories so I must have really enjoyed that programme!  Our Sundays were usually the same each week….Dad up the pub until lunch was ready. He would 9/10 come back late and I would usually be playing with friends in the garden making mud pies (although I did stop by the time I was about 14!!) When Dad came in, there would be the usual row, my friend would make a hasty retreat down the alleyway so not to be seen and when things had calmed down I would venture back in through the back door.  God only knows how many times I got that wrong and walked in as a sunday roast went wizzing across the room! Things usually quietened down in the afternoon when they would both fall asleep watching the sunday cowboy film.

I used to always take refuge when it got too bad down with Miss Daisey and Uncle Bill.  Miss Daisey always made cakes on a sunday morning and there was nothing better than a lick of the spoon – unfortunately I had to share even this pleasure when my dear (not) sister came around! Come summer or winter (was there a difference?) we would pack up the car with our cakes and go off to Clevedon or Severn Beach….don’t be fooled though, there wasn’t really a beach there!  I used to love it, cakes, sandwiches and no arguments.  God Bless them both.

Well, today quite a few of our “visitors” have left the block…..peace is not that far away now, just a couple more days! I think next year there should be a competition here …”How many Spaniards can you get in a 2 bedroom apartment?”…I kid you not, I have seen 14 in one of them.  Where do they sleep? Stood up I should imagine!  It is nice to have people around but perhaps we are just a couple of miserable old so and so’s because I do like it when we have the place back to ourselves again.  After October, it is normally only 4 families here for the whole of the winter.  The places takes on a whole new character then. My favourite months here are probably October, April and May….warm but not so hot that you don’t want to go outside the door.  I stopped typing just now to take Evil Edna out for a jimmy riddle and met someone that apparently arrived a couple of days ago.  They thought I was away because they hadn’t seen me!

Went to see Dr Legos on Monday for my eye check up….unfortunately I didn’t read the appointment card right and I had to go Tuesday so that was a good start to the week! Anyway, on Tuesday Dr Legos said my eyes were doing well (I was actually able to read everything that was on the card he was holding whereas before I would have been lucky to see the card let alone read it!).  Don’t need to go back now for 6 months.

Got problem at the other end of my ever deteriorating body now….I thought it was an ingrowing toenail (yuck) but couldn’t stand it any longer and went to see the doctor (didn’t think there was much point in showing my toe to Dr Legos!!!). Anyway, doctor reckons its an infection (from where, haven’t been outside for weeks!) so now on antibiotics for the toe too.  Doesn’t come alone this old age does it!  I’m only 52 but feel about 70 at the moment! One good thing though, the tablets I have got from the chemist (Soya) seem to be helping, no hot flushes for weeks now.

Tony and I were invited to a party last night at a local restaurant – Dingo Diner. You might remember me mentioning that we used to take Miss Daisey there every Sunday. It was really nice and we met up with some of the people on the local forum which was good.  We did try one dance at the end but Tony said I had “lost my rhythm” ….damn cheek!! I’d like to see him try to dance with someone 2 feet taller than him with a toe that looks like something off of big foot! Still, Cheryl Cole has lost her Mojo apparently and she is still doing ok as far as I can see!

One of the lads here went fishing yesterday and caught two conger eels that weighed 30 kg each!  I’ve got a photo that I will try to put on. Antonio holding the fish didn’t catch it but must admit he took most of the glory when the camera’ came out.  Tony used to go fishing with him a couple of years ago. There was Tony, Antonio and Eugene who is from Belgium.  None of them could speak to each other ‘cos they didn’t understand a word that either of the others said!

Antonio with one of the Conger Eels....(Antonio on the right!)

Not much planned for the week ahead apart from my mammogram on the 2nd….not looking forward to that as I’m sure not many women do.  Think of me, I worry so much about them.

Right my dear friends, time to have a look around the world and see what has been going on today outside these four walls! Here’s hoping that you are all well and that carees are holding their own and smiling at you.

Heard this wonderful song last night on the X Factor, I really enjoyed it and managed to download it today by Adele. I’ve sent it to my daughter Samantha as I thought the words were lovely for me to give her.  Perhaps one day I will be able to send them to Colette too.

Enjoy x

Love and thank you for taking the time to share my world with me.

Bell x

Quote:  A friend is one of the nicest things you can have and one of the best things you can be” Douglas Pagels

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

