Brindleboy123's Blog

See ya!

Posted on: August 7, 2010

Evening everyone…..just popped in to say that I may be out f action for a little while…maybe now, we’ll see.

I told you last time I wrote about the possibility of having my eyes done.  While, after a lot of deliberation, research and tests I am having the operation on Monday.  I saw Dr Legos and believe me when I was sent in to his office, it was like visiting the Godfather!  He sat behind a very large, antique desk with a translator by his side.  What a nice man though.  He obviously has a lot of experience in this procedure (thankfully) and managed to put me at ease.  I had more or less decided upon saying yes when I left the clinic.  However, when I got home I read a little more on the internet, including the fact that you see Halo’s for a while after the operation.  This spooked me a little and I rang the clinic the next day and cancelled!  Anyway, I later spoke to someone who had already had the op by Dr Legos and she has reassured me so I went ahead for the next lot of tests which were on Wednesday.

Since Wednesday I have had to have 2 lots of drops in my eyes 3 times a day until the operation.  After the op, 2 drops each eye every 15 minutes until I manage to sleep…then I wear eye protectors!  So glamorous……!  A few years ago I would probably have thought it was a stupid thing to have done but for some reason (perhaps foolishly), I am a little more prepared to take chances than I used to.  Someone said to me once, “Graveyards are full of If Only’s” so hey ho, here’s to a future life with no glasses.  Not sure what I’m going to do about the bags underneath my eyes…no glasses to hide them after the op!

We had our annual meeting here on Wednesday night.  What a carry on!  Every Urbanisation or block of apartments has to have a president/vice president and an annual meeting by law here.  If one isn’t nominated, the council will appoint someone!  The Spanish can really get going when they want to…such passion over such trivial things some times.  This year, our new gate was the centre of attention.  We put it up because it gives us some extra security from when the children are playing in the summer.  They tend to come by our door and put their hands through (its the outside metal gate) to see the dogs.  Hence the new gate keeps them further away.  Anyway, to cut a very long, stupid story short, it has been agreed that the gate can stay (it wasn’t going anywhere anyway1) but it has to be open in the summer! Exactly when the children are here….our neighbour went off on one and they are the only ones here who don’t speak to us which I find very sad.  My spanish was better than many of them (including myself) realised and I managed to hold my own.  The neighbour accused my dogs of eating her door and that I showered them on the balcony.  I reassured her that they do not eat wood….they have a complete mix which is rather tasty by all accounts; and I take them to their very own hairdresser!!  Damn cheek!

I told her that if the only thing she had to worry about in life was a door, she was a very lucky lady!  The reason her door is braking is because the wood is rotten from the rain…she is only here in August each year and doubt if she has even ever saw rain here.  Funny thing was that when we came home from shopping the next day, I caught the mother with a knife at the door trying to make the hole bigger!

I went straight to the Administrators that manage the complex and explained…I knew that she was going to accuse my boys of doing it again!  However, surprise surprise, the younger of the women came over to me and I thought it was going to be round 2 but actually asked me not to speak to her mother only to her, because in her words “mi madre es loca”….roughtly, “my mother is crazy”. We’ll watch this space.

Tony and I went shopping today to buy a pressie for the little girl upstairs.  Its Marta’s first birthday tomorrow.  Miss Daisey used to love her to bits so we bought a very nice present and will ensure that Miss Daisey’s name is proudly on the card too.  She would have loved to see the smile on little Marta’s face when she opened it…hopefully she will from somewhere.

Well, a very different week ahead, little scared to be honest but I also have Samantha’s visit to look forward to the week after which will be wonderful.

Take care everyone….I will be back on here as soon as I get the go ahead from the doctor. By the way, I’ve a couple of old eyeballs for sell if anyone is interested?? Any takers??!!!!

Love, Bell x

1 Response to "See ya!"

Best of luck with the forthcoming surgery. Hope you will be back with us soon.
Megxx

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

