Brindleboy123's Blog

Posted on: August 2, 2010

Good morning one and all!

I didn’t realise it had been so long since I had updated my blog.  I’ve been nosing in on the CUK so much lately that I forgot my own bits and pieces! One day seems to fall into another here at the moment, it is just so hot and we are only just going into August.  No idea why I live in Spain as I am most definately not suited to sitting in the sun.  Only been on the beach about 3 times in the past 8 years and it is right opposite us…not good is it!

The beach….well, you should see them all, they pass our window now en mass at around 8 (if not earlier) to put their deck chairs in their spot on the beach then go back for breakfast before joining the line back down to the water!  I’m told it is better on the beach because there is a breeze, what they forget is that there is also sand…ad that gets in every orifice known to man! There are very professional beach goers here, with adapted shopping trolleys to carry their chairs, home made bags that contain their brollies….they don’t miss a trick.  At around 11 about 100 people over the age of 70 converge in one corner of the beach for their daily beachasize!  “Hands up, touch your toes and stretch!”….All free, and run by whoever gets there first I think!!

I’ve probably mentioned before that we have a strip of waste ground in front of our apartments which had the show house for the block when it was built 25 years ago.  It has been a pain in the proverbial because we have had various people living there over the years. Actually, the last lot that have been there for a couple of years weren’t really any trouble but it still looked a mess.  Anyway, last week after many protests, the show house was finally pulled down and the land cleared quite a bit.  Excellent result! Cars park there during the summer to use the beach and this is great because it takes the cars off the streets.  The owner of the land however decided that as he had to pay to clear the land he was going to charge people to park. Only 1 euro a day which is nothing is it.  Oh no, one Spanish woman objected  and called the police, they came and checked the paperwork which although it showed that the man owned the land, didn’t say he could charge so they told him to stop!  Fine he said, closed the fence and stopped everyone parking!  It was utter chaos here….until he went home and someone pushed the fence down and now everyone is parking again! My god do I love the Spanish ……!!! I’m watching with interest to see what next and at the same time thinking to myself….is there something missing in my life???!!!!!

Tony has had his new tattos done….he has Miss Daisey now on his arm (she would have so loved that I’m sure and would have made sure everyone had a good look!) and on his should he has had a quill with the following words written underneath “viviendo el sueno con la persona amada” (sorry don’t have spanish keyboard for astericks) which translates roughly to “Living the dream with the one I love”…roughly!  I suggested “sold” on his forehead but for some reason he was against that!

Samantha is coming over in August and we are really looking forward to that.  Only for a few days and its a shame it wasn’t for longer but at least we will get to spend some time together and to spoil her.  Doubt if we will go too far although I think we will go to the Waterfalls of Algar, I’m told they are beautiful and you can swim there too –  they were on one of the shampoo adverts years ago.  We will also pass through Benidorm and show her where we scattered Miss Daisey’s ashes. Lots of nice meals out and generally just give her time to relax and enjoy herself.

Tomorrow I have an appointment at an eye clinic here.  I’m looking into the possibility of having some sort of surgery so I don’t need glasses. Apparently there are two sorts, one lasik which would correct my eyesight for long distance but I would still need to wear glasses for reading, and the other is an implant which would enable me to not wear glasses at all.  We’ll see (!!) what they say tomorrow and I’ll let you know,  If you don’t get any more blogs you know that I have had it done and the surgeon had the shakes and I can’t see what I’m typing……eeeek, hope not!

Had an email from my cousin in New Zealand an it looks like it is definately on for a meet up next year..so excited about that! I’ll try to make sure that she is able to see as many of the family as possible; Obviously, won’t be able to see my sister or World War 3 would start……anyway, really looking forward to it.

Right, Tony has just come back from his exercising in the garage…..must be mad it is sooooo hot down there…now off to the pool, although it feels more like a bath  at the moment!  (Some people are never satisfied are they…sorry!)

Love to you all, keep safe and happy.

Bell xxxxx

Miss Daisey would have loved this....on "her man's" arm!

2 Responses to ""

[I suggested “sold” on his forehead but for some reason he was against that!] lol;lol;lol;lol;lol

Glad to hear Samantha is coming over for a visit – you’ll have a lovely time 🙂

Take time to think over the laser eye surgery carefully – it doesn’t last forever as your eyes still continue to age, so you’ll probably need glasses again at some time in the future.

sue
x x x

Sue, funny you said that as it is something we have been thinking about too….my appointment is this afternoon so I will certainly put it on me list of questions! Bell x

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

