Brindleboy123's Blog

We won!!!

Posted on: July 13, 2010

Well what a couple of days its been here!  It has been a sea of red and yellow absolutely everywhere.  Tony and I watched the match with the oldies, Brenda and Andrew.  They are avid football hooligans and have supported Crystal Palace for the past 60 years! I don’t think there is anything they don’t know about football!  I never watch it myself…prefer Rugby with “real” men! We settled down with all the doors and windows firmly closed in an attempt to stop the dogs from going doo dally with all the horns and fireworks.  What a dirty lot Holland were?! You just can’t imagine what it was like here when Spain finally scored.  I think the floor vibrated as everyone stood up and cheered…I ran into the bathroom with my fingers in my ears just in case the other side scored!

As the whistle finally was blown we went outside and well, I’ve never seen so many flags! I don’t think the car horns stopped blowing until around 3 am! There were flags on buses, taxis, rubbish collection lorries, you name it and there was a flag! The next day Spanish tv showed the team on the plane coming home where the party had already started. They went from the airport to visit the King and Queen of Spain who kissed and cuddled the players…….sorry, but could you imagine that happening in the UK? I don’t think Mam would be amused!! After the King they went on for a visit with Mr Bean, oops sorry, the Prime Minister, Zapatero (Google him and I tell you, you won’t be able to tell the difference between the two!).  Finally, 1 million people waited for them in Madrid for the tour of the City.  It was heartwarming to see the son of the manager, Vicente Del Bosque who has Downs being given the World Cup and holding it high.  Celebrations are going on everywhere and there is certainly a lot of very, very proud people in the country right now.

Got the results from our doc fest. Tony is now wearing a very fetching stocking to help with a pulled tendon and I am apparently in the first stage of osteoarthritis in my hips. I’ve known I  have a problem with my knee so it wasn’t too much of a surprise to hear that it was also in my hip.  What a pair of old crocks!  Just have to have my annual mammogram now…not looking forward to that and I’m always on tender hooks until that is over with.

Heard the news about the government’s plans to place budgets back with GP’s….ummm seem to remember this year’s ago when it was under the name of GP Fundholding! Didn’t work then so not sure why it should be any different now.  I was very concerned when I heard that the emphasis is going to be taken away from waiting times and concentrating on quality.  Surely both are equally important? I pray this will now mean a return to long waiting times as it was in the past.

Tony went and had new tattoo’s today. When I first met him I would have had no idea he had any tattoo’s as they are all well hidden when he is dressed and I was not that keen to be honest but they have grown on me (certainly not enough for me to have any though!).  He had a quill pen on his back which has the following words underneath “Viviendo el sueno con la persona amada” which translates to something along the lines of “Living the dream with the person I love” (apologies that I couldnt put the accents where they are due….no idea where they are on this keyboard!).  He also had “Miss Daisey” tattooed on his arm which I thought was a lovely thing to do.  She would have loved it so much….Tony really did think the world of Miss Daisey and she loved him to bits too.  Its been quite difficult the last couple of days as I have had to explain to a few people that have arrived on holiday that Miss Daisey had passed away.  So many people had taken the time to get to know her even though she was only living here a short time and she had obviously touched many hearts.  Yesterday we also visited one of her favourite little bars behind our apartment block. It was the first time since she passed away and it broke my heart to sit there and not to see her smiling face as the bar man brought her out a shot to try!  She used to tell everyone about the shots she had tried and how her mouth had been on fire.  Several people have said what a good age she was when she died and yes I know she was 86 but it really doesn’t make it any easier does it.  I still miss every bone in her body and wish I had been able to do more for her and wonder if I had done enough, what ever enough is.

Tony is still dieting and its like living with Naomi Campbell! I really don’t want a skinny man! I know he has a long way to go before he would be skinny but I just love it when he tucks in to his food!  We did go off the wagon a bit today though and I enjoyed every second..neighbours came over from Belgium bringing our annual box of chocolates! Must have had about 6 each and you know what, I enjoyed every single calorie! My guess is that ol Naomi will beast himself tomorrow for eating them and go in his little gym for a bit longer!

(I wish you could see it here right now…Tony is trying to say the words that he has on his back…..so far nowhere near it!!!). I will try to post some photos when we take them tomorrow.

Wee wee kid was in trouble this morning (how unusual!)  Tony took her out and she found a dead mouse which she decided was hers and no-one not even her precious Tony was going to have. He said all he could see was the tail hanging out of her mouth!! Yuck! He thankfully did manage to get it out but little monster sulked for ages!

Oh, must tell you this.  Brenda phoned her son to see how things were going while she was away as they had been on holiday too leaving their 18 year old son, Adam, home alone. Apparently all had gone well and the house was spotless but Adam was caught out because it turns out he did have the usual “party while the folks are away” and tidied everything well, putting all the bottles in a bin bag outside by the bin ready for collection which fortunately was before the folks returned home.  He wouldn’t have been caught if it wasn’t for the fact that the bin man refused to take the bottles because they weren’t in the appropriate recycling bin and the bin men put them back by the side of the house!!!!

Right my friends, off now to have a look around the internet to see what has been happening in the big bad world over the last few days.

Love to you all as always.  Keep safe and smile….remember only another 4 years and then England can try again to be “Campeones del Mundo”!!!! xxxx

6 Responses to "We won!!!"

We won!!!…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Thank you….I do my best and hope it makes people smile now and again. Everything comes from my heart. Bell

I googled the prime minister and your right he does look like Mr Bean lol

Can’t look at him without thinking of ol Beanie Nilla!

I think the fireworks & cheering I heard the other night must have been coming all the way from Spain lol;lol

First quietish night yesterday!! Completely spoilt by me screaming out in the night and waking half the block probably….had a nightmare about Chunky being knocked over…where the hell do dreams come from???

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

