Brindleboy123's Blog

23rd May 2010….its just the Menapause thingy

Posted on: May 23, 2010

Now, if you have been following on my every word (!!!) you may have noticed that I haven’t posted anything for a couple of weeks which as those who know me will know, it is not like me to keep my fingers off the keyboard for that long! Tonight I thought it was time I went on here and low and behold that last two posts I had written were missing!  I found one in the Trash box and the other was in the trash box too, but with no words on the post!!!   I have either lost the plot completely or it is the damn menopause thing…..(she types, taking off her cardi yet again before she dissolves into yet another lump of lard). I have been looking it up on the internet and there is apparently a whole host of wonderful things awaiting me….hot flushes, loss of memory, confusion, headaches, low libido, aches in joints, tiredness….need I go on? I didn’t like the idea of all that lot so had a word with a friend who I thought would put my mind at rest and tell me that it wouldn’t be so bad.  She told me she was still having flushes 19 years after they started!!  So, only 18 years and 10 months to go……………

Tony has decided that tomorrow he is going to start to diet….I can still hear Miss Daisey saying “oh yes, heard it all before….” She used to say that every week when Tony told her yet again that he was going on a diet (usually just after she had passed her potatoes or meat on to his plate!)  I think this time though he might actually mean it which is good for him, but also means that I don’t get to have all the nice things either.  Still, it won’t do me any harm either.  I’ve always had a bit of an “hourglass figure”, albeit a fairly big hourglass!!! I used to envy those women who had lovely long legs as Mum seemed to be reluctant to provide me with legs other than the little logs that came with the rest of my body at birth.  I’m sure it was a ploy on her part to ensure that I always remained shorter than her! Have you noticed that so many “big” women have skinny legs….makes me mad! Someone recently told me that as you get older your legs get thinner, great I thought at last, but then she said that the fat goes to your tummy!!  Looks like my size 12 – 14 hourglass is going to turn into a roly poly!

I hear today that summer has arrived in the UK.  Hope you have all enjoyed the sunshine, makes the world of difference to how you feel doesn’t it.  It has been lovely here too and hopefully the good weather is here to stay.  We are starting to get some holidaymakers over now and there is nothing worse than saving for your holiday all year only to get rain.  I went into the swimming pool this week and although it was pretty cold at first it did feel much better after a while.  Some of the little ones splash about like there’s no tomorrow and don’t seem to feel the cold.  In July and August it is so hot that the pool is like a bath in the evenings and is actually not really very refreshing.  Mustn’t complain though.

Went to the market today.  5 kilos of oranges for 3 euros.  Excellent.  They look like footballs mind you, and there were only 9 so you can tell how big they are.  By the time we had finished in the market we weren’t hungry…had samples of fruit, cheese and meat given to us! Had a bargain on the rummage counter – 2 dresses for 4 euros each.  Someone took us to lunch and I wore one of them and it looked really good.  I’m a cheap date I suppose!

This is going to be a busy week, more physio (I’m almost physio’d out and seem to do more shifts than the staff there).  Tony is going to tidy the garage and has bought loads of shelving to put up.  I know I should really throw more things away but not ready to do that yet.  Tomorrow I am going to ring the funeral directors to organise a granite vase with Mum’s name on for the cemetary,  I could have Mum’s name put on the headstone but it would mean having to get the permission from my sister as I think she now holds the deeds to the grave.  That would just not work.  I know it would end in upset so I have decided to just get the vase and have the gold lettering with Mum’s name etc put on to it.  Hopefully I will be able to get over to Bristol in June some time to sort out the grave etc.  My sister doesn’t go there much, only Christmas really, so I really don’t know what to do about having it kept up together.  I think years ago you were able to pay the council to tidy the grave but that doesn’t seem to be available nowadays.

Did anyone else see Beckham in Afghanistan this morning on the news?  Now, I know there are a lot of youngsters over there who would probably love to see him but I really thought it was unnecessary to have it publicised.  Surely, those people who have celebrity status should visit purely to boost morale of the troops etc not for the publicity that comes with it…do it quietly Becks, but that is just my opinion, and what do I know!. Rant over.

Right, listening to Blood Brothers at the moment so signing off now ….hope the sun continues to warm the cockles of your heart!  Take care one and all.  Much love, Bell x

2 Responses to "23rd May 2010….its just the Menapause thingy"

Bell – just like buses – wait ages for a blog and then two come along together lol;lol;lol !!!!

Re Menopause – I still get the odd flush some 15+ years after they started ! But the next worst thing after them is the dry eyes ! My Mum had no symptoms whatsoever, seems my sister and I have had her share as well ! Lots of herbal remedies about if you don’t fancy HRT.

15 years…Oh my god, I thought my friend had been pulling my leg! That’s cheered me up no end Susie, thanks for that!!! NOT!

I’m going to see how it goes and if the heat gets to me this summer then I might be heading to the herbal shop..whatever that is in Spanish!

Leave a Reply

  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

