Brindleboy123's Blog

20th April 2010

Posted on: April 20, 2010

Evening all from a sunny Spain, which is getting a wee bit crowded!  Seems to be that when in doubt – head to Madrid! What I couldn´t get my head around was the fact that all those people got themselves to Madrid for these 100 coaches that were going to get them home, but the coaches hadn´t got there yet from Dover! Now call me daft, but not only do we have running water and electricity but we also have coaches in Spain too! Why on earth could they simply not commission Spanish coaches in the first instance anyway!! Move over Gordon….it takes a woman´s brain!

Torrevieja is having a desalination plant built which will be one of the if not the, largest in Europe.  Great you may think but at the moment they are having to dig up the road outside my little flat to lay pipes so large that you could walk through them and still have room above you.  They are huge.  The noise and the vibration is horrendous, nothing we can do about it I guess other than pick up the things that fall off the walls and fill in the cracks! There is a link below which talks a little about it and where the red line is on  the picture, our little flat is about an inch or so away upwards, one of the last blocks by the sea!  http://www.torrevieja.com/eng/torrevieja/833233-torrevieja-desalination-plant.html  We have high wire fences outside the windows now too! All being well this road should be finished by the 19th June – they have to stop then as the holiday season will be in full swing and this is the main parking area for the beach as it is only across the road.  Nightmare!

Still having physio – went to hospital yesterday to see the doctor who has now decided that I need to continue (not too much of a surprise there) but she has changed what I have.  Think I am doing longer shifts there than the physios!  It was really nice today, an english man came in who has obviously been going for some time and he had a large box on his lap in the wheelchair.  He gave the box to one of the physios who went off and the next thing all the physios, receptionists and helpers had all gathered around him and sang Happy Birthday to him in English! We all applauded and everyone was then offereda Ferraro Roche from a gift they had received earlier! Brought a lump to my throat – not the Ferraro Roche, just the fact that everyone was so kind to him and he looked like he had a tear in his eye too.  Ahh.

Every day when I walk the dogs I always  call out to an elderly man in my very best Spanish, just the usual hello, how are you sort of thing.  Tonight when we were walking by he came out and turns out he is American from San Francisco. He said when he was a lad he came to Torrevieja and vowed that one day he would live there. That was apparently many years ago and he has owned a house here for 30 years and is married to a Spanish lady although I think he does return to America for part of the year.  I love the fact the diversity of living here, you never know where someone is from.  As I´ve often said before, probably not everyone´s cup of tea, dead in the area that I live in during the winter and manic in the summer but it is certainly “home” for me now.

Did a bit more baking today (its a great hobby but I really should take up something that is less fattening). Anyway, made a lovely Victoria Sandwhich but instead of buttercream I used mascapone and then a layer of rasberry jam.  Delicious – perhaps I should sell it from my balcony to the workers….now there´s a thought!

Well, that´s all the news from the coalface (!) tonight folks.  Oh, just remembered…did anyone else see the advert this morning, it came on during Sky News and it was for holidays in Iceland!  I think that is really pushing it a bit don´t you!

Catch you all again soon. 

Love, Bell x

PS Just been given the link to these photos of the Volcano, posted on to the CUK forum, but just in case you have come here direct, have a look at them, puts so much into perspective.

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2010/04/more_from_eyjafjallajokull.html

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: Thanks Bell, I'm currently in the 'will I or won't I' situation. This has certainly been helpful. All the best Linda
  • Andy: Hi Bell, I am very interested in having my eyes done too. However, prices in the UK are outrageous. Could you tell me the name or website of the clin
  • Carol Harshman: Had my right eye done 3 days ago. Felt like 3-4 grains of sand in eye for 2 days. Unrelenting pain. Saw Dr. yesterday and all is well, except corne

Categories

